Smart Living | News

News | 07 May 2021

Watch how players react to being named in British & Irish Lions squad

Head coach Warren Gatland has announced his 37-strong squad for the British & Irish Lions ahead of their 2021 Tour of South Africa, to be captained by Welsh rugby hero, Alun Wyn Jones.

The hotly anticipated squad was revealed live to fans and players alike via the Official Lions app, powered by Vodafone.

And although fans can’t travel this year, the team and sponsors are doing everything they can to keep them close to the action.

Inclusion in the Lions squad is widely considered to be the pinnacle of any rugby player’s career, and Gatland’s selection features a mix of seasoned veterans and first-time Lions, including 20-year-old Wales and Gloucester star, Louis Rees-Zammit.

Rees-Zammit’s exhilarating performances in the recent Six Nations championship made him a firm favourite with fans, but it’s clear that the call from ‘Gats’ was still a career highlight, if this clip is anything to go by.

Joining him in South Africa is Scotland and Edinburgh flanker, Hamish Watson, whose signature mullet hairstyle is well known on the pitch. Manchester-born Hamish was just as proud to get the call to represent the best of British and Irish rugby.

And in a truly touching moment, Stuart Hogg dedicated his third Lions jersey to boyhood coach and long-time mentor, Bryan Easson.

Despite this being his third Tour as Head Coach, Gatland admitted that selecting 37 players from four countries to take on the world champions this year was his hardest selection yet.

“We saw some outstanding performances in the recent Six Nations, so competition for places has been tough. [But] We believe we’ve picked a squad capable of winning a Test series in South Africa.”

Check out the full selection below and catch all the action on the Official Lions app, including exclusive analysis from legends Sam Warburton and Sir Ian McGeechan.

Backs (16)

Josh Adams (Cardiff, Wales) Wing

Bundee Aki (Connacht Rugby, Ireland) Centre

Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints, Wales) Fly-half

Elliot Daly (Saracens, England) Centre

Gareth Davies (Scarlets, Wales) Scrum-half

Owen Farrell (Saracens, England) Fly-half

Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby, Scotland) Centre

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) Centre

Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs, Scotland) Full-back

Conor Murray (Munster Rugby, Ireland) Scrum-half

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) Scrum-half

Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby, Wales) Wing

Finn Russell (Racing 92, Scotland) Fly-half

Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland) Wing

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, England) Wing

Liam Williams (Scarlets, Wales) Full-back

Forwards (21)

Tadhg Beirne (Munster Rugby, Ireland) Second row

Jack Conan (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) Back row

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, England) Hooker

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, England) Back row

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors, Scotland) Prop

Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby, Wales) Back row

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) Prop

Jamie George (Saracens, England) Hooker

Iain Henderson (Ulster Rugby, Ireland) Second row

Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, England) Second row

Maro Itoje (Saracens, England) Second row

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales) (Captain) Second row

Wyn Jones (Scarlets, Wales) Prop

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, England) Second row

Ken Owens (Scarlets, Wales) Hooker

Andrew Porter (Leinster Rugby, Ireland) Prop

Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, England)  Back row

Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland) Prop

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys, Wales) Back row

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England) Prop

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby, Scotland) Back row

Follow @VodafoneUKNews on Twitter.

More Topics